Uni Ulm

University of Ulm red_lineOpto_logo

DFG Research Group PolarCoN
Important Events
Logo PolarCoN

Goals: Approach:

Prof. Dr. Ferdinand Scholz (Speaker),
Institute of Optoelectronics, Ulm University

Logo U Ulm

PD Dr. Ulrich Schwarz (Deputy Speaker), Prof. Dr. Josef Zweck
Fakultät für Physik, Universität Regensburg

Logo U Regensburg

Dr. Frank Bertram, Prof. Dr. Jürgen Christen
Institute of Experimental Physics,
Otto-von-Guericke Universität Magdeburg

Logo OvG

PD Dr. Armin Dadgar, Prof. Dr. Alois Krost
Institute of Experimental Physics,
Otto-von-Guericke Universität Magdeburg

Logo OvG
Prof. Dr. Andreas Hangleiter    
Institut für Angewandte Physik,
Technische Universität Braunschweig
Logo TU Bs

Dr. Michael Jetter,  Prof. Dr. Peter Michler
Institut für Halbleiteroptik und Funktionelle Grenzflächen,
Universität Stuttgart

Logo Uni Stuttgart
Prof. Dr. Michael Kneissl
Institut für Festkörperphysik, Technische Universität Berlin
Logo TU Berlin
Prof. Dr. Bernd Witzigmann
Integrated Systems Laboratory,
ETH Zürich


  1. “Growth of non-polar GaN quasi substrates by hydride vapor phase epitaxy”; project leader Ferdinand Scholz (Uni Ulm)
  1. “Physics and Technology of nitride-based non-polar green laser diode structures”, project leader Andreas Hangleiter (TU Braunschweig)
  1. ”High In-containing GaInN active region: Growth on semi-polar microstructures and time-resolved optical charcterization”, project leaders Michael Jetter / Peter Michler (Uni Stuttgart)
  1. “MOVPE growth of polarization reduced AlGaInN quantum wells and structural characterisation”, project leaders Armin Dadgar / Alois Krost (Uni Magdeburg)
  1. “Polarization field control in GaInN quantum well heterostructures on semipolar growth surfaces”, project leader Michael Kneissl (TU Berlin)
  1. “Microscopic analysis of semi- and non-polar nitrides: surfaces, interfaces, and defects,” project leaders Ulrich Schwarz / Josef Zweck (Uni Regensburg)
  1. “Microscopic correlation of electronical and optical properties with the crystalline real structure of polarization field controlled III-Nitrides”, project leaders Frank Bertram / Jürgen Christen (Uni Magdeburg)
  1. “Physics and Simulation of electro-optical properties in non-polar nitride-based heterostructures,” project leader Bernd Witzigmann (ETH Zürich).


Funded by
Our Team:

PolarCoN-Team From Left to Right:
Christoph Hums, Thomas Wunderer (front), Ferdinand Scholz, Stephan Schwaiger, Clemens Vierheilig, Holger Jönen (front), Sebastian Metzner, Michael Jetter, Clemens Wächter, Michael Kneissl (front), Bernd Witzigmann, Ulrich Schwarz, Armin Dadgar (front), Daniel Dräger, Andreas Hangleiter.

Not on the picture:
Frank Bertram, Jürgen Christen, Alois Krost.

Important Events:
        Focussed Session: Semi- and nonpolar group III nitrides

Links to PolarCon Messages:

For further informations, please contact

    Prof. Dr. Ferdinand Scholz
    Institute of Optoelektronics
    Ulm University
    Albert-Einstein-Allee 45
    89081 Ulm
    Tel. ++49-731-5026052
    e-mail: ferdinand.scholz *at* uni-ulm.de

Last modification: 16.07.2008 (FS)